Another North Korean Nuclear Test?

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedIn

March 30, 2017

Experts available for comment

Intelligence authorities in South Korea anticipate that North Korea will conduct a nuclear test in the near future, possibly as early as the first week of April. Officials in Seoul say that the DPRK could conduct a test ahead of the upcoming meeting between US President Donald Trump and Chinese President Xi Jinping on April 6 and 7, or in the lead-up to the late North Korean founder Kim Il Sung’s 105th birthday anniversary on April 15. Given North Korea’s ballistic missile tests in February and March of this year and the ratcheting up of tensions between the US and DPRK, another nuclear test might be imminent.

An interactive 3D model of North Korea’s Punggye-ri nuclear test site created by CNS for NTI shows that North Korea has sufficient space in its tunnel complex for additional and possibly larger nuclear tests.

A new test would mark Pyongyang’s sixth nuclear test. North Korea carried out its first nuclear test in 2006 and then conducted four more in 2009, 2013, and January and September of 2016.

Experts Available for Comment

For more on the implications of this latest development, the following CNS experts are available for comment:

  • Jeffrey Lewis
    Director of the East Asia Nonproliferation Program (EANP)  
    jlewis@miis.edu • 831-647-6616
  • Josh Pollack
    Editor, Nonproliferation Review and Senior Research Associate 
    jpollack@miis.edu • 202-842-3100 x307
  • Melissa Hanham
    Senior Research Associate, EANP
    mhanham@miis.edu • 831-647-6507
  • Andrea Berger
    Senior Research Associate and Senior Program Manager
    aberger@miis.edu
  • Catherine Dill
    Senior Research Associate, Export Control Program
    cdill@miis.edu • 202-842-3100 x309
  • Dave Schmerler
    Research Associate
    dschmerler@miis.edu • 831-647-4619

Recent Relevant Analysis

Media Resources

Comments Are Closed