President Trump Ready to Decertify Iran Deal

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedIn

October 5, 2017

Caricatures of John Kerry and Mohammad Javad Zarif. (src: DonkeyHotey, Flickr.com, Creative Commons 2.0)

Caricatures of John Kerry and Mohammad Javad Zarif.
(Src: DonkeyHotey Flickr.com, Creative Commons 2.0)

The Trump administration appears poised to “decertify” the 2015 Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), also known as the “Iran nuclear deal,” in a move that will be a serious blow to the multilaterally negotiated agreement.

In addition to possibly jumpstarting Iran’s heretofore halted nuclear program, the end of the JCPOA could have a serious, complicating effect on regional security and international trade.

Experts for Comment

Experts at the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies are available for comment:

Leonard S. Spector
CNS Deputy Director
Washington DC ⋅ 202.842.3100 x302 ⋅ lspector@miis.edu@leonard_spector

Jeffrey Lewis
Director, East Asia Nonproliferation Program 
Monterey, CA ⋅ 831.647.6616 ⋅ jlewis@miis.edu ⋅ @ArmsControlWonk

Laura Rockwood
Executive Director, Vienna Center for Disarmament & Non-Proliferation 
+43 (1) 236-948-201 ⋅ lrockwood@miis.edu

Chen Kane
Director, Middle East Nonproliferation Program
Washington DC ⋅ 202.842.3100 x303 ⋅ ckane@miis.edu ⋅ @acrsme

Miles Pomper
Senior Fellow
Washington DC ⋅ 202.842.3100 x318 ⋅ mpomper@miis.edu ⋅ @MilesPomper

Andrea Berger
Senior Research Associate ⋅ Senior Program Manager
London, England ⋅ aberger@miis.edu

Journalists are encouraged to contact experts directly. For more information, contact Managing Editor Rhianna Tyson Kreger.

Comments Are Closed