Doreen and Jim McElvany Nonproliferation Challenge

The James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies (CNS) and its journal, the Nonproliferation Review, aim to spur new thinking about nonproliferation and disarmament.

To advance this goal, the Doreen and Jim McElvany Nonproliferation Challenge will recognize the most outstanding new ideas and policy proposals published in Volume 25 (2018) of the Nonproliferation Review. The Challenge will award a grand prize of $5,000, a $3,000 runner’s-up prize, and a $1,000 honorable mention prize.

Submissions must adhere to the Nonproliferation Review style guide, including citation style and maximum word count (10,000 words). Submissions must be sent to Managing Editor Rhianna Tyson Kreger and must include the author’s name, institutional affiliation (if any), date of receipt of most recent degree or expected graduation date, email address, and telephone number. Entries that do not conform to these rules will be returned.

All authors and co-authors of articles, viewpoints, and reports published in Volume 25 of the Review are eligible for the Challenge except current employees of the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies.

The deadline to submit is 11:59 pm/EST, July 6, 2018. However, due to the limited number of pages that we can publish in a single volume, eligible articles will be accepted for publication on a rolling basis. We therefore encourage interested authors to submit early. Decisions on the winners of the scholarly award will be announced in early 2019.

For more information, contact Managing Editor Rhianna Tyson Kreger.

View past winners